Defend democracy in the South.


There are at least 19 election deniers currently running for executive offices that oversee elections in the seven Southern states holding those elections this year. Among them are eight incumbent elected officials, all Republicans, running for reelection. From top left to right, they are Govs. Kay Ivey of Alabama, Ron DeSantis of Florida, Bill Lee of Tennessee, and Greg Abbott of Texas. From bottom left to right, they are Attorneys General Steve Marshall of Alabama, Ashley Moody of Florida, Alan Wilson of South Carolina, and Ken Paxton of Texas. There are no election deniers among the incumbent secretaries of state running for reelection in Southern states this year. (Official portraits.)