Clean Sweep Against Gay Marriage in the South

Our friend Pam Spaulding has a rundown on "The State of Bigoted Marriage Amendments" newly added to state constitutions. The South is, to no one's surprise, solid on the issue.

Five Southern states passed constitutional amendments banning gay marriage just last year: Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, and Mississippi (plus, for good measure, border state Oklahoma). North Carolina has such an amendment under consideration.

Every other Southern state already had laws on the books prohibiting gay marriage (it's just not in their constitutions): Alabama, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.