Date on which the U.S. Supreme Court struck down campaign contribution limits capping the amount an individual can give to federal candidates and parties in a two-year election cycle in a case brought by Alabama businessman and conservative donor Shaun McCutcheon and joined by the Republican National Committee: 4/2/2014

Previous limit on the amount each donor could give to party committees and political action committees per cycle under the law: $74,600

Previous limit on the amount each donor could give to all federal candidates per cycle: $48,600

Amount an individual donor can now give if he maxes out his contributions: $3.5 million

Percent of the U.S. population that gave more than $2,500 in political contributions in the last election cycle: 0.08

Number of donors who came close to surpassing the stricken aggregate limits in the 2012 election cycle: 1,219

Portion of those elite donors who are women: 1 in 4

Portion of those elite donors who live in a neighborhood that is majority African-American or Hispanic: fewer than 1 in 50

Portion of U.S. billionaires among those elite donors: 1 in 6

Number of states with their own campaign finance limits that will be voided by the McCutcheon v. FEC decision: 11*

The Supreme Court's vote on the ruling, which followed the court's conservative/liberal split: 5-4

Of a half-dozen earlier campaign finance cases considered by the Roberts court, number in which any of the five conservative justices supported campaign finance limits: 0

Number of the Supreme Court justices who have held elected office and thus have direct experience of how campaign finance works: 0

Number of protests against the McCutcheon decision held across the U.S. the same day the Supreme Court handed down its ruling: more than 150

Number of people who have signed a Public Citizen petition calling for a constitutional amendment to overturn both the McCutcheon ruling and the 2010 Citizens United decision that opened the door to anonymous outside money in elections: more than 36,000

* Connecticut, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, New York, Rhode Island, Wisconsin, and Wyoming, along with the District of Columbia.

(Click on figure to go to source.)